The Department of Homeland Security Extends List of STEM Degree Programs

In a press release issued Friday, the Department of Homeland Security announced that it has extended the list of approved degree programs that qualify for the STEM optional practical training extension. STEM refers to designated degrees in the areas of science, technology, engineering, and math, which qualify graduates for an extra 17 months of OPT beyond the 12 months allowed all foreign students upon graduation from a U.S. university. The list has been expanded to include graduates in pharmaceutical sciences, econometrics, and quantitative economics, among other things.

The STEM program was created to help attract the world’s brightest scholars, and encourage economic and technological development in the United States. For a complete list of STEM degree programs, please see the list issued by SEVIS.